Sōtḗr

Jesus.

Light of the world absorbing the darkness and destruction of sin.

Bread of life for a world hungry for significance and identity.

Way of truth for the world caught in the lies of lust and shackles of selfishness.

Entrance and guidance to a life full of joy and peace with a loving and compassionate Father.

Epitome of goodness and graciousness to those who lose their way.

Hope of a new life now and a glorious life forever.

Connection to a life of purpose and a heart of faithfulness guided by the Creator of all things.

Sōtḗr (so-tare’) [i].

Deliverer.

Preserver.

Savior.

Please save me.

Please deliver me.

Please preserve me.

From opinions.

From expectations.

From anxieties.

From who I think I am.

From what I think I am not.

From what I think I need to be and do.

From trying to be perfect.

From who others say I am.

From what others think I am not.

From what others expect me to be and do.

From others’ accusations of perfect.

Only You can …

Help me.

Guide me.

Change me.

Only You can love me into the best version of myself. 

So, please …

Help me to feel accepted where I have felt abandoned.

Help me to feel blessed where I have felt betrayed or bitter.

Help me to feel compassionate where I have felt critical.

Help me to feel confident where I have felt confused.

Help me to feel discernment where I have felt disappointed or disrespected.

Help me to feel delight where I have felt despair.

Help me to feel exceptional where I have felt excluded.

Help me to feel excited where I have felt empty.

Help me to feel free where I have felt fearful.

Help me to feel forgiving where I have felt furious and frustrated.

Help me to feel grateful where I have felt guilty.

Help me to feel hopeful where I have felt helpless.

Help me to feel healing where I have felt hurt or humiliated.

Help me to feel harmony where I have felt hostility.

Help me to feel inquisitive where I have felt indifferent.

Help me to feel interesting where I have felt inadequate or inferior.

Help me to feel joyful where I have felt judged or judgmental.

Help me to feel jubilant where I have felt jealous.

Help me to feel kind where I have felt cruel or cruelty.

Help me to feel loving where I have felt let down.

Help me to feel merciful where I have felt mistreated or mad.

Help me to feel nice where I have felt nasty.

Help me to feel open-minded where I have felt overwhelmed.

Help me to feel optimistic where I have felt oppressed.

Help me to feel peaceful where I have felt persecuted, pressured, or provoked.

Help me to feel purposed where I have felt perplexed.

Help me to feel quiet where I have felt quaking.

Help me to feel rested where I have felt rushed.

Help me to feel respectful where I have felt ruthless or resentful.

Help me to feel sure where I have felt scared or stressed.

Help me to feel sensitive where I have felt sneering.

Help me to feel thankful where I have felt tired.

Help me to feel trusting where I have felt threatened.

Help me to feel unmistakable where I have felt unfocused.

Help me to feel valued where I have been violated or victimized.

Help me to feel vulnerable where I have felt vicious.

Help me to feel worthy where I have felt worthless or weak.

Help me to feel worshipful where I have felt worried.

Help me to feel yielded where I have felt yearning.

Help me to feel zealous where I have felt zapped.

Thank You Sōtḗr (so-tare’) that as I walk through the pain and process of change You never leave me to wonder or wander alone. 

Thank You Sōtḗr (so-tare’) for the freedom only You can bring – peace of mind and heart – when I let go and trust You to be in complete control. 

Thank You Sōtḗr (so-tare’) for turning my world and my perspective upside down and inside out so I can be better today than I was yesterday.

Thank You Sōtḗr (so-tare’) for delivering me from myself into Your glorious light. 

Thank You Sōtḗr (so-tare’) for preserving me from the pressure I put on myself to be and do outside of Your perfect will. 

Thank You Sōtḗr (so-tare’) for saving me from the selfishness and self-righteousness that wants to consume me.

Thank You Sōtḗr (so-tare’) for being with me through everything to help me become the person You created me to be. 

Thank You Sōtḗr (so-tare’) for loving this holy mess with unconditional love and unending grace.

AMEN!


[i] Blue Letter Bible, “Strong’s G4990 – sōtēr”, https://www.blueletterbible.org/lexicon/g4990/kjv/tr/0-1/

Marie Fremin. 12/27/21, 12/30/21, 3/2/24

Leave a comment