Isaiah 43

Oh “Lord [my] God” (3a) ….  Thank You for all that my life is.

 

Thank You for the good, which reminds me of the depths of Your care.

Thank You for the not so good, which reminds me of the grandness of Your grace.

 

Thank You for deciding before I was even born to “love” (4c) me forever and without boundaries.  And for daily declaring Your love over me, continuing to love me every minute of every day.  Through all my choices – gracious or greedy, selfish or sacrificial, angry or accepting.

 

Thank You that no matter what these choices are that You still faithfully call me by name (1d) and always devotedly say “you are Mine” (1e).  Because I am “chosen” (10b) to be Yours, no matter what.

 

Help me to remember this, that I am always lovable and always worthy.  Especially when the world shouts the opposite to me.  Because You are “He who formed” (1b) me for great purposes and with indescribable love.  Because You are the “Holy One” (15a) who creates us through and for Your “glory” (7b).  So You see me always as beautiful.

 

Help me to remember Your hand is always on me.  You never forsake me.  Therefore I have no reason to fear or be anxious.  You remind me in many ways to “Fear not” (1c, 5a), and I pray You help me keep my heart in tune to hear it.  And to remember I belong to You, so therefore “I have redeemed you” (1c) and “I am with you” (5a) are always true enough to penetrate through the humanness of my heart.

 

Help me stand confidently and surely amidst the circumstances of life.  Because they will never be bigger or more powerful than You.  When I am anxious, help me remember “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you” (2a).  When I am overwhelmed, help me remember “And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you” (2b).  When I am treated unfairly, help me to remember “When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you” (2c-d).  When I am scared, help me remember You are the God “who makes a way in the sea and a path through the mighty waters” (16).  Because “there is no one who can deliver out of My hand” (13b).  I am secure in the loving hands of the one true Savior (11b) who loves to redeem all things for His glory.

Isaiah 43

So I can continually stay focused on You and confidently sing praises to You (21b).  I can trust You for impossible things to become possible.  Including “a road in the wilderness And rivers in the desert” (19d-e).

 

For You are my Savior (3b).  You guide me through my Egypt (3c), the world around me that wants to enslave, dominate, and oppress me.  And as I walk with You, remind me that I am “precious” (4a) to You and therefore do not need to succumb to pressure and pride. You will “honor” (4b) my obedience and faithfulness to Your will, especially when I am faithful against the dark and deadly influences trying to destroy me.  Help me to “know and believe” (10c) You are working out everything according to Your best purposes and for my good and Your glory.

 

And help me, please, to “not remember the former things” (18a) that want to encase me in shame and stop my progress.  Help me, please, to not “consider the things of old” (18b) that want to stop me from living in and enjoying the present moment.  Help me, please, remember You are “He who blots out your transgressions for My own sake” (25a) so You can draw and keep me close.

 

Let me be a witness – bold and loud – of the “new thing” (19a) You are doing in me.

Of the new life You are bringing forth out of me.

Of the new hope You are creating in me.

Of the new faith You are burgeoning in me.

 

Because there is no other.  There is no other God (10d-11).

 

There is no other love so sure.

There is no other hope so secure.

There is no other grace so pure.

 

So help me remember who I am and Whose I am.  Let me not be like Israel, who did not “honor Me with your sacrifices” (23b) and who “have wearied Me with your iniquities” (24d).

 

Let me be “waters in the wilderness” (20c) to those searching for You “And rivers in the desert” (20d) to those desperate for Your love.  Let me impart hope instead of havoc, faith instead of fear, peace instead of pride, joy instead of judgment, acceptance instead of accusation, compassion instead of chaos.  Let me be a true and faithful “witness” (10a) to all the goodness and grace You are.  Let Your love flow through me so people know it – and want to experience it from the one true “Savior” (3b).

 

AMEN!

 

Marie Fremin.   4/30/17, 5/27/17, 9/3/17

Leave a Reply

