Bâṭach (Proverbs 3:5)

Proverbs 3:5a

  • Trust in the Lord with all your heart” (NIV)
  • Trust in and rely confidently on the Lord with all your heart” (AMP)
  • Trust the Lord completely” (TLB)

Trust: bâṭach (baw-takh’)[i]

  • To trust
  • To be confident
  • To be sure
  • To be bold
  • To hope
  • To feel safe
  • To be secure
  • To put confidence in
  • To put trust in
  • To trust in
  • To have confidence

What do I know to be true, no matter what the situation?

Without doubt.

Without fear.

Without anxiety.

What do I bâṭach about Yᵉhôvâh (yeh-ho-vaw’)[ii]?

  • Eternal God
  • Jehovah
  • Existing One
  • One true God
  • proper name of Yahweh

Who else can be trusted completely, at all times and in all situations? 

The One who was “in the beginning (Genesis 1:1 NIV) before there was a world.  The One who took – and still takes – what “was formless and empty [with] darkness” (Genesis 1:2 NIV) and creates life and light. 

The One who sees us in our “transgressions and sins” (Ephesians 2:1 NIV), spiritually disconnected and unable to help ourselves, and who chooses to pour out His mercy and “the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us” (Ephesians 2:7 NIV).  In new and needed ways every day.

The One who calls us to “be strong and courageous” (Deuteronomy 31:6,7 NIV) in our bâṭach in who He says He is and who He proven Himself to be.

The One who is with us, no matter what.  He goes before us to prepare the way and with us to guide us along – “the Lord himself goes before you and will be with you” (Deuteronomy 31:8 NIV).   The One who will NEVER abandon us – “He will never leave you nor forsake you” (Deuteronomy 31:6,8 NIV).  He never leaves us to wander or wonder alone.

So, we have every reason to trust instead of …

be afraid” (Deuteronomy 31:6,8)

be terrified” (Deuteronomy 31:8)

be discouraged” (Deuteronomy 31:8)

Our lêb (labe) – our mind, our will, our heart, our understanding[iii] – has every reason to bâṭach when it focuses on God.

When bâṭach is lacking, let us check:

  • What am I thinking?
  • What do I know to be true?
  • What do I know to be wise?
  • What am I remembering as good?
  • What am I reflecting on?
  • What am I determined about?
  • What am I consenting to?
  • What am I insisting on controlling?
  • What am I willing to change?

Am I courageous enough to allow God to be in charge of my life? 

Or, will I keep myself in power and live my life by my emotions, passions, and appetites?

Will I give God ALL I am? 

Not part.  Not some.  Not selective pieces. 

But ALL.

Everything I am. 

Everything I want to be.

Everything I think I lack.

Everything I am expectantly waiting for.

Everything I think I am not.

Everything I think I will ever be.

Will I be sure about who God is?

Will I be confident about who God says I am?

What am I trusting in?

Is it me and my abilities?

Because I will always manage to disappoint myself and let myself down.

Will I fall into and feel safe in God’s arms? 

Will I hope that God has a good plan full of grace?

What am I confident about?

Who am I confident in?

Am I leaning into God?

Am I giving Him my ALL?

If the answer is in any way “no” – choose today to start to change.  Choose today to start giving God everything you are and everything you hope to be.

And then dare Him to do something amazing!


[i] Strong’s H982 – bāṭaḥ, https://www.blueletterbible.org/lexicon/h982/kjv/wlc/0-1/
[ii] Strong’s H3068 – Yᵊhōvâ, https://www.blueletterbible.org/lexicon/h3068/kjv/wlc/0-1/
[iii] Strong’s H3820 – lēḇ, https://www.blueletterbible.org/lexicon/h3820/kjv/wlc/0-1/

Marie Fremin. 11/24/21 and 3/27/22.

Leave a comment