Hand of Grace

Jesus is the epitome of God’s grace.  He brought truth and wisdom from heaven with Him for all mankind.  He also brought grace, the favor of God.  “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth” (John 1:14).

 

And God’s grace was like a divine hand upon His life and His ministry.  “And the Child grew and became strong in spirit, filled with wisdom; and the grace of God was upon Him” (Luke 2:40).

 

Because that who is God is.  Grace.  The One who bestows favor and blessing and mercy on us that we could never deserve.  “The Lord, the Lord God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abounding in goodness and truth” (Exodus 34:6)

 

And He has His gracious hand on our lives every moment of every day.

 

hand-of-grace

 

Then the thought occurred to me – what if God took His hand of grace off of our lives?

 

What if God stopped forgiving us?

What if God stopped intervening for us?

What if God stopped helping us?

What if God stopped walking with us?

What if God stopped blessing us?

What if God stopped listening to us?

What if God stopped comforting us?

What if God stopped being good to us?

What if God stopped loving us?

 

There would be no hope.  The world would revert to the pre-flood qualities, where “the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually” (Genesis 6:5).  Because there would be no standard of good and evil.  No balance of right and wrong.  No hope for a good today and a better tomorrow.

 

So I do not even for one second want to conceive of a world without God.  For I need the grace of God.  Desperately.

 

Because it is the grace of God that compels me to be a better person, more Christ-like in my thinking, speaking, and reacting.  It is the grace of God that compels me to encourage people and serve people and love people, even when they don’t deserve it.  It is the grace of God that compels me to never give up, because I could be one (brave) step away from my next victory or revelation.

 

It is grace that teaches me that I need to be:

  • Humble (Matthew 5:3)
  • Grieving over the things that break God’s heart (Matthew 5:4)
  • Meek and compassionate (Matthew 5:5)
  • Desiring God first (Matthew 5:6)
  • Merciful and kind (Matthew 5:7)
  • Sincere and honest (Matthew 5:8)
  • Peaceful and peace-minded (Matthew 5:9)

 

So what if God took His hand of grace off my life?  I would be destroyed.  For it is the grace of God that keeps me going.

 

So I am thankful every day that “The Lord, the Lord God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abounding in goodness and truth” (Exodus 34:6).  Because I need it.  I need Him.  I need grace.

 

So will you pause with me and thank Him for His goodness in your life and His grace upon your life?

 

Marie Fremin.  9/23 and 9/24/16

 

Leave a Reply

