What, Me Worry?

Matthew 6:34 – Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

 

How often do you worry?

 

What, Me Worry.jpg

 

How often do you consider all the negative possibilities of tomorrow and start fretting about them today?  How often do fear all the consequences you may face tomorrow and start fretting about them today?

 

You are torturing yourself unnecessarily.

You are tormenting yourself without cause.

You are harassing yourself over something that has not even happened.

 

When we think about it this way, it seems to silly and petty doesn’t it?

 

I realized this summer that I did exactly all this to myself.  I had a situation come up at work where my first reaction was to worry.  From the minute I heard about it.  And I immediately felt myself become overwhelmed by the bad experiences, wrong conversations, and hurtful emotions.  And I was ambushed by all the negativity that had defined my life for that season.  And it immediately starting choking the life out of me, stealing my joy and running away with m peace.  Because all I could focus on were the possibilities of history repeating itself.

 

And pretty quickly, it hit me.  “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

 

This is exactly what I was doing.  I was worrying.  Without cause.  With great expectation of the worst possible outcome.  Without hope of good things.

 

I was inviting every negative possibility of the new encounter into today.  And those possibilities were snuffing out the peace of today.  Those possibilities were covering up the joy of today.  Those possibilities were overwriting the grace of today.

 

And why?  For what reason?

 

For no good reason.  None.

 

And God humbled me greatly by showing me what I was doing.  That I was making myself crazy over something that had not happened and may never happen.  That I was giving away my peace for a relationship that was going to be completed redefined.  That I was throwing away my joy because I could not see any good possible.

 

And God got a hold of me and shook me out of my stupidity.  He pushed me out of my stupor.  Because He knew the truth.  What was I going to accomplish by stewing?  How was I going to help myself by fretting?  “And which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?” (Luke 12:25).  I wasn’t going to accomplish anything but ruining today, and I wasn’t going to help myself to anything but trouble.

 

And for those few moments, I was cherishing that trouble that had not happened.  And God said that is far from His best for me.

 

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also” (Luke 12:34).

 

And I don’t want my treasure – my hope, my grace, my peace, my joy – to be bound up in possibilities of tomorrow that have not become reality.  I want the potential I hold onto to be focused on Him and the grace He will give me to get through whatever the day holds.

 

So just as quickly as I grabbed hold of worry, I let it go.  Because it was choking out the grace of God in my life and anchoring me into the negativity of my past (wrong) choices.

 

So what are you worrying about today?  Will you choose to acknowledge it and then give it God?

 

He is waiting for you to come to Him.  And He’ll take your worry and exchange it for His peace. He promises.  “28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

 

Marie Fremin, 9/18/16.

Leave a Reply

