Thankful

Are you thankful?

thankful-2

Do you appreciate all the blessings of God in your life?  Do you acknowledge the free flow of grace on your life?  Do you applaud the presence of God always with you?

 

You should be.  And you should express it.  With words.  With worship.  With works.

 

Because in doing so, you keep yourself from being drawn in by the world to selfish and self-centered ways.  You protect yourself from being influenced away from your faith.  You guard your heart from being persuaded by something other than God’s love.

 

Romans 1:21 – because, although they knew God, they did not glorify Him as God, nor were thankful, but became futile in their thoughts, and their foolish hearts were darkened

 

See the danger of not being thankful?  Futility in thinking you know better than God and choosing to go your own way – “Worthless in their thinking [godless, with pointless reasonings, and silly speculations]”.  Foolishness in your comfort choices that create confusion and lack of wisdom – “The result was that their foolish minds became dark and confused”.

 

There are no benefits to being ungrateful.

There are no blessings to being unthankful.

 

Because we’re called to be thankful.  Verbally and vocally.

 

Like the crowd who was praising Jesus as He rode into town – “Blessed is the King who comes in the name of the Lord!  Peace in heaven and glory in the highest” (Luke 19:37-38).  This upset the religious leaders, but Jesus welcomed it.

 

Because He expects our praise.  He longs for our worship.  And when we refuse to be thankful enough to give it, “the stones would immediately cry out” (Luke 19:40).  Nature will pick up and take our place.  Nature will sing the victory song of the Savior and proclaim His greatness.  Nature will give the Savior the glory and honor He deserves.

 

When it’s OUR place to be thankful and sing His praises.

  • Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever. (1 Chronicles 16:34; Psalm 106:1; Psalm 107:1; Psalm 118:1,29; Psalm 136:1)
  • So we, Your people and sheep of Your pasture, Will give You thanks forever; We will show forth Your praise to all generations. (Psalm 79:13)
  • Enter into His gates with thanksgiving, And into His courts with praise. Be thankful to Him, and bless His name. (Psalm 100:4)
  • In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:18)
  • And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. (Colossians 3:15)
  • Oh, give thanks to the Lord! Call upon His name; Make known His deeds among the peoples! (1 Chronicles 16:8)
  • To the end that my glory may sing praise to You and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks to You forever. (Psalm 30:2)
  • Therefore by Him let us continually offer the sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of our lips, giving thanks to His name. (Hebrews 13:15)

 

I keep reminding myself that I am designed to count my blessings, not my problems.  I am created to praise my Creator, not my circumstances.  I am fashioned to give my all for the Savior who gave His all for me.

thankful

So today, I can choose to be thankful or I can choose to be selfish.  I can focus on His grace and be blessed, or I can focus on the world’s ways and be disappointed.  I can keep my eyes on Him who created me to be a royal heir, or I can keep my eyes on all the shortcomings the world says I have.

 

Loving Father, help me to be thankful – through all, in all, with all.  Let my heart always sing the song of thanksgiving for Your love and it’s bountiful blessings.  And let my eyes stay focused on Your grace that gives me an abundance of reasons to be thankful each day.

 

Marie Fremin, 9/18/16

Leave a Reply

