Psalm 23 – Our Daily Guide

Psalm 23.  A Psalm of David that teaches us how to live a successful day-to-day life.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

GOD IS MY FATHER AND JESUS IS MY SAVIOR.  HE LOVES ME UNCONDITIONALLY AND WANTS TO POUR BLESSINGS UPON ME.  I SHALL NOT WANT TO LIVE OUTSIDE OF HIS WILL, WHICH INCLUDES LOVING ALL PEOPLE AT ALL TIMES.

 
He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters.

HE HELPS ME TO KEEP MY MOUTH SHUT WHEN MY TEMPER FLARES.  HE LEADS ME TO WALK IN LOVE AND NOT REACT IMPULSIVELY.  HE STILLS MY STIRRED UP EMOTIONS, CAUSING ME TO PAUSE AND CONSIDER MY REACTION BEFORE GIVING IN TO THE TEMPTATION TO LIVE IN THE MOMENT.

 
He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

HE REMINDS OF GRACE AND HOW IT SHOULD BE MY GO-TO RESPONSE.  HE FILLS ME WITH COMPASSION, SO I DON’T OVERREACT OR IRRATIONALLY RESPOND.  HE RESTORES MY BROKEN PIECES AND REDEEMS MY HURT EMOTIONS.  BECAUSE HE WANTS ME TO BE A POSITIVE AMBASSADOR FOR HIS NAME AND A REFLECTION OF HIS GLORY.

 

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

YES, I WILL GET MAD.  YES, I WILL HAVE MOMENTS OF NEGATIVITY.  YES, PEOPLE WILL HURT ME.  YES, I WILL FACE TRIALS.  BUT I WILL RISE ABOVE THEM.  I WILL NOT ALLOW THEM TO DICTATE MY THOUGHTS, WORDS, AND ACTIONS.  BECAUSE GOD IS WITH ME, AND GOD HAS A GOOD PLAN FOR ME.  BECAUSE GOD IS COMPASSIONATE WITH ME.  BECAUSE GOD LOVES ME ENOUGH TO CHANGE MY DIRECTION, CORRECT MY THINKING, AND INTERRUPT MY PLANS.

 

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.

YOU HAVE ALREADY MADE PROVISIONS FOR THIS MOMENT.  YOU HAVE GONE AHEAD OF ME AND COVERED EVERYTHING WITH YOUR LOVE, GRACE, AND FORGIVENESS.  YOU HAVE GIVEN ME THE ABILITY TO FOCUS ON YOU AND TO DEMONSTRATE YOUR LOVE, NO MATTER WHAT THE SITUATION.  I AM ANOINTED WITH YOUR SPIRIT AND BLESSED WITH YOUR POWER TO LIVE A VICTORIOUS LIFE.

 
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

I AM BEING CHASED BY YOUR LOVE, WHICH NEVER FAILS ME.  IT IS THERE FOR ME IN EVERY MOMENT, GOOD AND BAD, OF MY LIFE.  I WILL REMAIN IN YOUR PRESENCE AND SEEK YOUR FACE FOREVER.  FOR ONLY IN DOING SO WILL I BE TRANSFORMED INTO THE PERSON YOU HAVE MADE ME TO BE AND SEE YOUR GOODNESS AND REVEL IN YOUR MERCY, WHICH IS NEW EACH MORNING FOR ME.  THANK YOU FOR REDEEMING ME FOR YOUR PURPOSES.

 

Marie Fremin.  6/16 and 6/18/16

Leave a Reply

