Good Morning, God

I love those mornings when I am driving into work and the sun is peeking through the clouds.

Good Morning God

It makes me smile to know that God is looking down on me, watching over me, and loving me.  No matter my bad attitude.  No matter the traffic.  No matter the unexpected delays.  No matter the thoughts running through my head.

 

He is God.  He is good.

 

Psalm 118:1, 136:1 – “Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever.”

 

So as I sit in traffic and catch the glory of God’s presence shining through the clouds, I am reminded me to say “thank You” to the One who creates everything.  Who orders the universe.  Who refines our hearts.   Who loves us unconditionally.

 

Psalm 73:28 – “But it is good for me to draw near to God; I have put my trust in the Lord GOD, That I may declare all Your works.”

 

So, good morning God.  Thank You, loving Father, for another day.  I woke up, therefore You have deemed this a day of purpose.  Thank You for already filling this day with Your grace and Your glory.  Thank You for going before me into today.  Thank You for the opportunities You have already put in place – help me to see these divine appointments, help me to speak with the tongue of Love, and help me to make a difference wherever I can.  Thank You for refining me so that I can live above my emotions and beyond the moment to walk in patience, in grace, in kindness, and in peace.  Help me to be an agent of grace and a purveyor of peace, no matter what is going on in me and around me.  Thank You for allowing me to part of Your eternal plans and to glimpse these divine plans in motion.

 

Thank You especially for grace, which I will need every moment of today.  Because I am human and can be led astray by my emotions.  Because it is impossible to love people without grace.  Because I will miss the mark and hurt people.  Because I will choose to go my way instead of following You.  Because I will allow myself to be selfish and self-centered instead of considering others.

 

Thank You for the truth that resonates in 2 Timothy 2:13 (“If we are faithless, He remains faithful; He cannot deny Himself”) – that no matter how I miss the mark, You still love me and want to bless me.  You still want to work in me and through me.  You still have great hope for me.  You still shower me with grace.

 

I won’t get everything right today, but that’s OK.  Thank You for grace to soothe those mistakes and turn me the right direction.  Thank You for grace that “will cover a multitude of sins” (1 Peter 4:8), when I choose to do things and think things my way.

 

I pray today You open my eyes, so I see the beauty of Your creation.  Open my heart, so I am more loving toward and slower to react rashly.  Open my mind, so I think good thought about people and consider the best about them.  Open my hand, so I freely give when I see a need.  Open my tongue, so I am quick to compliment and encourage.  And most importantly, open my obedience – so I can be faithful in all You have called me to do today.

 

I pray today that I am a light shining into the dark corners of confusion of the world.  I pray today that I am the salt that flavors the uncertainty of society toward You.  I pray today that I am brave enough to take that next tentative step into the deep waters, where You wait for me with encouragement and equipping to continue forward.  I pray today that I am confident enough to choose right over wrong, patience over anger, and forgiveness over retribution.

 

Thank You, loving Creator, that all these things – and SO much more – are possible with You.  Today.  Because You are the God of the impossible “who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think …” (Ephesians 3:20).

 

Thank You for the all the possibilities of today.

Thank You for the hope of tomorrow.

Thank You for the lessons of yesterday.

 

There is nothing I can say to truly express how amazing You are (in never giving up on me) and how overwhelmed I am by Your love (which never fails).  Thank You just isn’t full enough, deep enough, wide enough, or high enough to encompass Your greatness and my gratitude.

 

But I will try.  I’ll start the day with “Good morning, God”.  And we’ll both know that I mean all these things and so much more.

 

Marie Fremin, 4/26/16

Leave a Reply

