Wrong Turn

I took my normal route to Cartersville tonight, but the drive did not go as it normally does.  It was the same road, but it had been rerouted for construction.  So instead of seeing the usual landmarks and coming out at the expected corner, I had been rerouted to a block down.  But I did not know this.  So I missed my turn and kept going straight.

 

Straight in the wrong direction.  And it only took me a few seconds to realize it.

Wrong Turn.jpg 

Then my mission became to turn around and find the right direction.  Once I did, I turned where I assumed I should.  And I found myself headed in the right direction on the road I knew.

 

And of course God spoke to me.  He showed me that this wrong turn was a metaphor for life and faith.  How often do we go the direction WE want to go, even though we know it is wrong or not the best choice?  How often do we find ourselves lost because we refused to stop?  How often do our choices make us feel hopeless, desperate, and lonely?  How often do we keep going without asking for help, checking a map, or turning around?

 

When the answer starts with two simple decisions.  The first is stop.  Stop moving forward in the wrong direction.  Stop turning back to that wrong behavior.  Stop relying on that choice to fill the empty spaces of your heart.  The second is trust God.  Because sometimes we just can’t stop in our own free will.  Because sometimes we have been consumed and overwhelmed by the consequences of our choices.  Because we all need grace to be able to stop completely and turn willingly.  Because our Creator who designed us knows exactly what we need to do to make better choices.

 

Solomon sums it up in Proverbs 3:5-7a – “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.  7 Do not be wise in your own eyes …”

 

There is good news.  No matter where we are, God sees us.  He knows our exact location.  And God has a plan to turn us in the right direction.  Back toward Him so we walk with Him.  And even better? He redeems every wrong turn for our good and His glory. No experience, right or wrong, goes wasted with God. He makes all things beautiful.

 

So stop and turn around today.  God is waiting for you.

 

Marie Fremin, 4/16 and 4/17/16

Leave a Reply

