Imperfect Am I

I have two people in my life who consistently throw around the phrase “you think you are so perfect” when they are at a loss for words.  This is one of the things that really irks me.  Because it is a weak argument from someone trying to put me in my place.  And thus it is like nails on the chalkboard of my soul.

 

Let me set the record straight once and for all.  I never claim to be perfect.  I don’t expect to achieve perfection this side of heaven.

Imperfect Am I

Perfection belongs to one being, and it definitely is not me.  Perfection belongs to God and God alone:

  • Deuteronomy 32:4He is the Rock, His work is perfect; For all His ways are justice, A God of truth and without injustice; Righteous and upright is
  • 2 Samuel 22:31As for God, His way is perfect; The word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him.
  • Psalm 18:30As for God, His way is perfect; The word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him.
  • Romans 12:2 – And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.
  • Malachi 3:6 – “For I am the Lord, I do not change; Therefore you are not consumed, O sons of Jacob.
  • Hebrews 13:8 – Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.
  • Numbers 23:19 – “God is not a man, that He should lie, Nor a son of man, that He should repent. Has He said, and will He not do? Or has He spoken, and will He not make it good?
  • James 1:17 – Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.
  • Isaiah 40:8 – The grass withers, the flower fades, But the word of our God stands forever.

 

I don’t see my name anywhere in this list.  I don’t assume my name should be anywhere in this list.  I don’t want my name to be in this.  Because perfection requires a standard unmeetable with human reasoning, human thinking, and human feelings.

 

So I am not perfect.  That could be the end, and I could be content.  But God says there is more to the story.

 

With God, I have a loving God who loves me in spite of my imperfections.  I have a forgiving Father who helps me to overcome my imperfections opportunity-by-opportunity and day-by-day as I draw closer to Him.  I have a caring Creator who, according to Paul in 2 Corinthians 12:9, gave me my imperfections to help me become dependent on Him and to teach me how to grow in Godly love and wisdom.  I have a profound Provider who loves me enough to help me know, see, and accept the truth as it is through my imperfections.

 

And this leads me to such a profound truth: Even though I am not and never will be perfect, God sees me as perfect.  Because He sees me through the blood of Jesus.  Because He looks at me through the sacrifice of the Savior.  Because He knows my intentions are good, even though my heart is human and leads me astray.

 

So I am not perfect.  But 2 Samuel 22:33 says “God is my strength and power, And He makes my way perfect.”  God orders my steps so I walk with Him as I walk toward His will.  God softens my heart so I am more able to love people as He expects me to.  God opens my hard places so I am more able to forgive – and possibly forget – the wrongs done to me.

 

Perfect I am not.  Perfect I will never be.    And that’s OK.  Because the Potter doesn’t put perfect pieces on His wheel.  He puts malleable lumps of clay (broken and flawed people) that He can lovingly form into pieces reflecting His love, His grace, and His joy.

Imperfect Am I 2

So you want to accuse me of thinking myself perfect?  I can prove you wrong 1000 ways to Sunday.  But if you want to talk to an imperfect person who knows God sees potential in her, come sit by me.  And we’ll be imperfect together.

 

Marie Fremin, 4/9/16

Leave a Reply

