Star Gazing

I love to look up at the night sky and gaze at the stars. I don’t care about the names of the individual stars or constellations. I’m not worried about seeing a planet.

 

I just simply want to look up and be amazed at God, the Creator who designed and placed each star (Genesis 1:16 – “He made the stars also”). I just want to look up and stand in awe of God’s handiwork that fills me with peace and faith. I just want to look up and be speechless at how vast and wonderful this universe is. Just like David in Psalm 8:3, who took time to appreciate the God who was guiding and protecting him (“When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, The moon and the stars, which You have ordained”).

Star Gazing.jpg

And as I look up, I realize a few things. God created each star to be unique, just as He creates each human to be unique. He knows each star and its position in the sky (Psalm 147:4), just as He knows each hair on our head (Matthew 10:30) and our spot on His earth. God has purposely placed each star in the sky for maximum glory, just as He has placed us in our community for maximum impact. And each night God orchestrates a heavenly sonata of twinkling and glowing to remind us of His goodness, His power, and His grace.

 

And as I look up and consider the immeasurable power and sovereignty of God, I wonder if Abraham saw the same stars that twinkle for me. I wonder if Abraham marveled at the majesty of God as He saw the stars shine. I wonder if Abraham stood speechless under the night sky as he considered the big and seemingly impossible promise of descendants God related back to the stars:

  • Genesis 15:5 – “Then He brought him outside and said, ‘Look now toward heaven, and count the stars if you are able to number them.’ And He said to him, ‘So shall your descendants be.’”
  • Genesis 22:17 – “blessing I will bless you, and multiplying I will multiply your descendants as the stars of the heaven and as the sand which is on the seashore; and your descendants shall possess the gate of their enemies.”

 

And I wonder how much gazing at the stars grew Abraham’s faith. Developed Abraham’s trust. Drew Abraham closer to God.

 

And I wonder if Abraham considered me, a descendant of the promise, as He walked, lived, and gazed. Because as I look up, I thank Abraham for believing in the possibility of the stars. I thank God for honoring His promise. And I thank God for choosing me to fulfill His promise.

 

So look up and awe at the grace of God.

 

Twinkle, twinkle little star

What an amazing God You are

Up above the world so high

Yet You loved us so much You chose to die

For our sin and for our shame

On Calvary’s cross You took the blame

And this is why I joyfully praise Your name

 

So you may see a sky full of stars. But I see a world of promise and possibility. I see the beauty and boldness of an amazing God. I see the vast grace and goodness of God.

 

So look up and consider God. He will shine His love and light on you and in you. And He will remind you that He is faithful to guide you and fulfill His promises.

 

Marie Fremin.  3/4/16, 3/6/16, 3/12/16

Leave a Reply

