Goodbye Letter to my CoWorker

S—–,

I wanted to take this opportunity to share sincerely and with heartfelt honesty the things that are on my heart.

 

I wish you well. Wherever you go, whatever you do, no matter what happens, I hope and pray you will be happy and successful. That you will have a positive and lasting impact on those around you. That you will have joy in all your family moments.

 

I know our relationship has been rocky and difficult. It has been hard to find peace and acceptance. For my part, I apologize for not being a better ambassador for Christ. I feel I failed much more often than I succeeded in showing you the love of Christ. And that is entirely my fault. I chose to let myself be guided by my emotions instead of God’s love. In doing so, I reacted and overreacted in ways that hindered God’s love and peace from shining through. I allowed myself to respond inappropriately to choices you made. I chose anger instead of acceptance and being right over reconciliation. It didn’t matter if I was right or got frustrated at a lack of communication. The right thing is always love, and I failed to show you God’s love – a lot. For this, I am truly sorry.

 

Life is full of junk. We all face it, and it always sucks. One thing I know is this: the junk will either make us better or destroy us. Either way, it defines us and determines our outcome. I know that 2015 has been very challenging for you, and I pray that you may be able to see God’s love and grace through the junk.

 

Because here’s the simple truth: God loves you. He created and designed you to be uniquely you. He has a great plan for your life. He has big plans and big blessings for you. Yes, for you. He loves you more than you can imagine or comprehend.

 

And His love is bigger and so much better than any of your junk. He wants to take your junk – and all the pain, heartache, anger, frustration, and shame associated with it – and give you peace, joy, and grace instead. He wants to love all your hurting and broken places into wholeness, health, and happiness.

 

And again I apologize for not being a better steward of this message to you. I should have chosen grace instead of grudges and surrender instead of stubbornness when thinking about and responding to things. I should have chosen humility instead of hard feelings. No matter if I agreed or not and no matter if I was right or not. Because God says His followers should always do the right thing – and when we do, our fickle feelings will fall into the right place (the place called grace).

 

So as you go into your next adventure, I pray you go with expectations of great things. I pray you do and accomplish big and impossible things. I pray you have success beyond your biggest fantasy.

 

And most importantly, I pray you find and have peace. Peace to accept people where they are yet lovingly encourage them to grow. Peace to let little things and differences go. Peace to praise as often as possible. In other words, peace to draw people to you and want to learn what you have to teach.

 

I also pray you will be able to see and appreciate all of God’s blessings in your life. For you are blessed, and God will continue to bless you. Learn to see each blessing – big and small – and know He loves you.

 

He loves you unconditionally, without limits. And His love wants to take all the junk and replace it with His goodness. Isaiah 61:1-3 – “… [God] has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, To proclaim liberty to the captives, And the opening of the prison to those who are bound; To comfort all who mourn, To console those who mourn in Zion, To give them beauty for ashes, The oil of joy for mourning, The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness …”

 

And may you be blessed beyond your wildest imagination. I pray that the prayer of Aaron in Numbers 6:24-26 be woven into the fabric of your life:

24 “The Lord bless you and keep you;
25 The Lord make His face shine upon you, And be gracious to you;
26 The Lord lift up His countenance upon you, And give you peace.”’

Goodbye Letter to Shannon 11-15

Marie Fremin, 11/8/15 and 11/22/15

 

Leave a Reply

