What is a Christian?

I am a Christian.

What is a Christian

If your first thought was “oh, well, she thinks she’s perfect, so change the channel” then shame on you.

I am not perfect. In fact, I am far from it and I willingly embrace my humanity. I am the last person on this earth who would ever claim to be perfect, because I know how far from perfection I am. Anyone who is a true Christian knows there is one, and only one, perfect person – and He died over 2000 years ago on a cross for our sins.

I am a human who has good days and bad days. I have emotional highs and erratic lows. I have selfless moments and very selfish times. I feel joy and laugh. I feel hurt and disappointment and cry. I get frustrated and mad and lash out. I make mistakes. I hurt people. I get irrational.

And yes, for all my wrong thoughts, actions, and plans I am convicted. God gently taps me on my shoulder and lets me know I have missed the mark of love. He lovingly reminds me that I can do better.

But I am not condemned. I am not shackled by shame and guilt. I am not destined to remain a prisoner to (in) my sins, shortcomings, and failures. I am the sum of my experiences, both good and bad, but I am not defined by all the wrong things.

For where I come up short and outright fail, there is grace to pick me up.

Where I lack mercy, there is mercy to fill me to overflow.

Where I am downtrodden and sad, there is compassion to encourage me.

When I am fearful or doubtful, there is peace and assurance to calm me.

When I am angry, there is a calming voice asking me to let it go.

When I mess up, there is forgiveness to turn me right again.

I am not perfect, but I have a Savior who is. And that’s what it means to be a Christian. It means that I have a Savior to guide me lovingly, teach me faithfully, love me unconditionally, and grow me carefully. I have a Savior who wants the best for me, who desires to see me walk in the gifts and talents He has placed in me, and who has a plan bigger and more fulfilling than I can ever see or comprehend. I have a Savior who was so passionate about me that He allowed Himself to be humiliated, mutilated, and crucified so I could have an intimate relationship with Him.

So I am a Christian. How ‘bout you?

Marie Fremin, 3/2/15

Leave a Reply

