Rosary for Believers

Rosary

CROSS – Thank You, God, for loving me and giving Your beloved Son Jesus to redeem and sanctify me.

0 – pause and reflect on Jesus

0 x 3 – thank You Jesus

  • Thank You for choosing to die as a sinner so I could be reconciled to and have relationship with God
  • Thank You for taking the lashes and nails, for the (extensive) shedding of Your blood for me and my wholeness
  • Thank You for bearing the punishment for my sinfulness – absorbing the wrath of God for my bad choices – in the pain of the cross

0 – pause and meditate on the merciless sacrifice of Jesus

0 x 10 – Praise, “hallowed be Your name”

  1. Thank You for Your unconditional love toward me that will always keep me
  2. Thank You for Your forgiveness of all my failures and mistakes and human choices
  3. Thank You for Your grace poured continually on my life that empowers me to live for You
  4. Thank You for Your mercy that completes my human shortcomings, pardons my iniquities, and favors me with Your tenderness
  5. Thank You for Your peace that soothes my anxieties and allows my faith to grow
  6. Thank You for Your power that motivates me to continue forward and strengthens me when I am weak
  7. Thank You for Your longsuffering in loving me in my stubborn moments and personal choices
  8. Thank You for Your graciousness (kindness) to me at all times despite my attitude and actions
  9. Thank You for Your compassion on my weaknesses that allows me to be dependent and to grow
  10. Thank You for Your goodness that leads me to salvation and keeps me hungry for Your presence

0 – pause and meditate on God’s graciousness in your life

0 x 10 – Prayer, “Your kingdom come, Your will be done” … God, I pray that You help me to (better) be/become

  1. a fisher of men (Matthew 4:19)
  2. a light to the world (Matthew 5:14)
  3. a person who blesses in persecution and trials (Matthew 5:44)
  4. a person who seeks glory/favor/praise from God and not men (Matthew 6:1-6)
  5. a person of forgiveness (Matthew 6:14)
  6. a person who does not judge others (Matthew 7:1-5)
  7. a person who chooses the narrow (hard) way (Matthew 7:13-14)
  8. a person of faith and not legalism (Matthew 9:16-17)
  9. a person who walks in love (Matthew 22:37-39)
  10. a good steward (Matthew 25:20-21)

0 – pause and praise God’s ability to open your heart to receive the changes He wants to make in your life

0 x 10 – Petition, “give us this day our daily bread”

  1. Help me, God, to be meek (humbly, gentle, mild) in spirit, word, and action. Help me to refine humility into everything I do, knowing my meekness will cause inheritance and blessing. (Matthew 5:5)
  2. Help me, God, to see and destroy the lustful places and things in my life. Help me not to covet or eagerly long for people and things that do not glorify You. (Matthew 5:27-30)
  3. Help me, God, not to worry about any aspect of my life. Help me instead to seek You first and rely on You because You supply all my needs, great and small. (Matthew 6:25-33)
  4. Help me, God, to ask so I will be given, to seek so I will find, and to knock so closed doors will be opened. Help me to continue to ask, seek, and knock until I receive an answer from You. (Matthew 7:7)
  5. Help me, God, to have my faith founded solidly and grounded deeply in You. Help me sure up a steadfast foundation that will withstand all the pressures and trials and stresses of life. (Matthew 7:24-25)
  6. Help me, God, to be a person of great faith that reaches out to You in all the moments of my life. Help me to reach for Your healing power when I am in need, whether in desperate need or growing distress. (Matthew 9:21-22)
  7. Help me, God, to lay aside my interests and desires to walk in Your purposes for my life. Help me to “take up my cross” and “to lose my life” for the privilege of being Your child. (Matthew 10:38-39)
  8. Help me, God, to confront my problems and trials with mountain-moving faith. Help me to talk to the obstacles in the way of my victory and promises so they become the dust of my testimony. (Matthew 17:20)
  9. Help me, God, to remember that with You all things are possible. Help me to reflect on Your ability to perform miracles great and small for me and Your ever-present provision for the needs in my life. (Matthew 19:26)
  10. Help me, God, to choose Your will over mine. Help me to lay down at Your feet my desires, goals, ambitions, and dreams so that “not as I will but as You will” comes to pass in my life. (Matthew 26:39)

0 – pause and thank God that your prayers will be the sincere desires of your heart and His will

0 x 10 – Pardon, “forgive us our sins as we have forgiven those who sin against us”

  1. Open my heart, God, to see the attitudes, thoughts, and actions that I need to repent of. Let me recognize and acknowledge my sin so that I “bear fruits worthy of repentance.” (Matthew 3:2,8)
  2. Open my heart, God, to see the anger and resentment and bitterness in my heart toward others. Help me to find a way of reconciliation and forgiveness. (Matthew 5:21-24)
  3. Open my heart, God, to “turn the other cheek” when I am offended or hurt. (Matthew 5:39)
  4. Open my heart, God, to treat my enemies as Jesus treated His – to love them, bless them, do good to them, and to pray for them. Help me to forgive my enemies for their offenses and to replace my anger toward them with Your eyes of love and compassion. (Matthew 5:44)
  5. Open my mind, God, to remember that I am forgiven as I choose to forgive. Let my heart be softened to extend forgiveness to people in my life so that I may receive Your love and forgiveness for my transgressions and imperfections. (Matthew 6:14-15)
  6. Forgive me, Lord, for those moments when I have been a person of little or no faith. Help me to develop a deep and active and growing faith in You and Your care for me. (Matthew 8:26)
  7. Forgive me, Lord, for my old (ungodly) attitudes and thoughts that are not of You or that do not promote Your will in my life. Help me to discard the “old wineskins” of my desires and to obtain the “new wineskins” of Your purposes for my life. (Matthew 9:16-17)
  8. Forgive me, Lord, for not bringing my burdens and cares and worries to You. Forgive me for being too prideful and self-centered to assume the rest and comfort and ease You offer when I release my life to You. (Matthew 11:28-30)
  9. Forgive me, Lord, for not always bearing good fruit for You. Refine my heart so that I produce “good treasure” and good testimony for You. (Matthew 12:33-35)
  10. Forgive me, Lord, for the evil and defiling things in my heart. Help me to recognize, repent of, and replace the evil thoughts, blasphemies, and anger taking root in me. (Matthew 15:18-19)

0 – pause and thank God for His willingness to forgive and forget all of our offenses

0 x 10 – Protection, “and don’t let us yield to temptation”

  1. Help me to answer the temptations and deceptions of the devil with the power and truth of the Word. (Matthew 4:1-10)
  2. Help me to bless and pray for those who hurt and offend me. (Matthew 5:44)
  3. Help me to be motivated to love and serve You instead of seeking the praises and attention of men. (Matthew 6:1-6)
  4. Help me to never succumb to negative or disbelieving confession. Help me to tame my tongue to praise and to promote Your promises in my life. (Matthew 9:24-25)
  5. Help me to share the blessings of God in my life. Help me to declare Your goodness and salvation in my life to those You send to me. Let me be a person who “freely gives” from the blessings in my life. (Matthew 10:8)
  6. Help me not to fear men or what men can do to my body. Help me to rely on Your Spirit in times of testing by men. Let not my tongue be stilled from preaching Your goodness in every moment of my being. (Matthew 10:16-31)
  7. Help me to produce good words. Let me not forget that I am accountable for my words. Help me to tame my tongue so that I will not be condemned by the words of my mouth. (Matthew 12:37)
  8. Help me to receive Your word with an open and willing heart. Let me not be distracted by “cares of this world [or] the deceitfulness of riches.” Prepare my heart to hear You so that Your will is not choked out of my life. (Matthew 13:22)
  9. Help me to overcome the temptation to be greedy and unfeeling. Help me to see the needs of people around me and to meet those needs when possible. Enlarge my vision so I can produce miracles such as the feeding of the 5000. (Matthew 14:15-21)
  10. Help me to “be of good cheer” and to trust in You during the storms of life. Help me not to doubt Your care or protection during the rough and trying times. (Matthew 14:24-32)

0 – pause and meditate on your relationship with God

0 x 3 – thank You God

  • that I can come to You as a loving Father and faithful Friend
  • that I can talk to You openly and honestly about my feelings and thoughts
  • that You love me despite myself, my choices, and my attitudes

0 – pause and reflect on Jesus

CROSS – Thank You, Jesus, for opening the door of heaven so I can know You personally, pursue You purposely, and serve You passionately as I seek deeper and more meaningful relationship with You.

Written March 2013

Leave a Reply

